

UNITED STATES COURTS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE JOHN JOSEPH MOAKLEY UNITED STATES COURTHOUSE 1 COURTHOUSE WAY - SUITE 3700 BOSTON, MA 02210

SUSAN J. GOLDBERG CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE 617-748-9614 FLORENCE PAGANO DEPUTY CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE 617-748-9376

For immediate release

Contact: Susan J. Goldberg (617) 748-9614

## **PRESS RELEASE**

## **RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE SELECTED** FOR THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BOSTON (April 24, 2019) — Chief Judge Jeffrey R. Howard of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit announced today that four new members were appointed to the Court's Rules Advisory Committee: Sarah S. Burg and Mina S. Makarious of Massachusetts, Carla S. Loubriel Carrión of Puerto Rico, and Linda Rekas Sloan of Rhode Island. Attorneys Burg, Makarious, Loubriel Carrión, and Sloan will be replacing retiring members Abim Thomas and Wendy Sibbison of Massachusetts, Antonio Escudero-Viera of Puerto Rico, and Donald C. Lockhart of Rhode Island.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2077, the new members were selected to the Committee to make recommendations regarding the rules of practice and internal operating procedures for the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and the First Circuit Judicial Council. Chief Judge Howard thanked the retiring members for their commendable service and welcomed the new members.