

UNITED STATES COURTS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE JOHN JOSEPH MOAKLEY UNITED STATES COURTHOUSE 1 COURTHOUSE WAY - SUITE 3700 BOSTON, MA 02210

SUSAN J. GOLDBERG CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE 617-748-9614 FLORENCE PAGANO DEPUTY CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE 617-748-9376

For immediate release

Contact Susan J. Goldberg 617-748-9614

## RULES ADVISORY COMMITTEE SELECTED FOR THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BOSTON (May 8, 2017) — Chief Judge Jeffrey Howard of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit announced today that three new members were appointed to the Court's Rules Advisory Committee: Wendy Sibbison of Massachusetts, Martha Van Oot of New Hampshire, and Vivianne M. Marrero of Puerto Rico (At-Large Member). Attorneys Sibbison, Van Oot, and Marrero will be replacing retiring members Elizabeth A. Lunt of Massachusetts, Michael J. Connolly of New Hampshire, and Doreen F. Connor of New Hampshire (At-Large Member).

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2077, the new members were selected to the Committee to make recommendations regarding the rules of practice and internal operating procedures for the First Circuit Court of Appeals and the First Circuit Judicial Council. Chief Judge Howard thanked the retiring members for their commendable service and welcomed the new members.