

UNITED STATES COURTS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE JOHN JOSEPH MOAKLEY UNITED STATES COURTHOUSE 1 COURTHOUSE WAY - SUITE 3700 BOSTON, MA 02210

SUSAN J. GOLDBERG CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE 617-748-9614 FLORENCE PAGANO DEPUTY CIRCUIT EXECUTIVE 617-748-9376

For immediate release

Contact: Susan J. Goldberg (617) 748-9614

## PRESS RELEASE

## ERIC VOS REAPPOINTED FEDERAL PUBLIC DEFENDER FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

BOSTON (April 17, 2019) — Chief Judge Jeffrey R. Howard of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit announced today that Eric Vos has been reappointed as Federal Public Defender for the District of Puerto Rico for a new four-year term.

Mr. Vos has served as Federal Public Defender since 2014. Mr. Vos has extensive experience with federal defense work. Beginning in 1996, Mr. Vos spent ten years as a trial attorney with the Federal Defender for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. Subsequently, Mr. Vos became an Assistant Federal Public Defender in the District of Maine, where he served for three years. Immediately prior to his appointment as Federal Public Defender in Puerto Rico, Mr. Vos served as an Attorney Advisor at the Defender Services Office, Legal Policy & Training Division, at the Administrative Office of the United States Courts.

First Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Juan R. Torruella, who served as Co-Chair of the Reappointment Committee with First Circuit Court of Appeals Judge David J. Barron, stated that "the First Circuit Court of Appeals is confident that the District of Puerto Rico will continue to

benefit from Mr. Vos' zealous and dedicated service." Chief Judge Howard expressed his appreciation to Judge Torruella and Judge Barron for serving as Committee Co-Chairs. The Chief Judge also sincerely thanked José R. Aguayo, Esq. of Hato Rey, Puerto Rico; Linda Backiel, Esq. of San Juan, Puerto Rico; Francisco Rebollo-Casalduc, Esq. of San Juan, Puerto Rico; Herman Cestero-Rodríguez, Esq. of Guaynabo, Puerto Rico; and Susan Goldberg, Circuit Executive, for their service as Committee members.